Drained

Barely two decades
I’ve been in existence
Yet it seems like a lifetime
I’ve endured this distance.

It will get better
My heart will soon mend
And I promise myself
I won’t ever do this again.

The glass is now empty
I’m completely drained
I didn’t do anything wrong
Yet I’m the one feeling pain.

I just can’t fathom
Your repeated disrespect
I gave you all I could give
Something I now regret.

I gave you the world
I gave you everything
But it wasn’t enough
So I’ve got to spread my wings.

Leave a Reply

